BANG ARE BACK: Ripple Music to Release Career-Spanning Best Of… from Proto-Metal Pioneers! | Stream and share ‘Keep On’

Best of BANG is by BANG is released worldwide via Ripple Music on 20th April 2018
Stream and share ‘Keep On’ by BANG here:
Order now at
“BANG is as brooding, lyrically complex and expertly arranged as anything produced by the sonic titans of the early 1970s.”
DECIBEL MAGAZINE“As heavy and raw as hell, placing BANG as one of the greatest heavy/hard rock bands to have emerged from the States in their day.”

“There have been many American Black Sabbath’s since BANG, but they were the first. And still the best.”

Often referred to as America’s answer to Black Sabbath, BANG is one of the most unsung bands in the history of US hard rock. Toting the heaviness of Birmingham’s finest, Led Zeppelin and the dirty groove of Grand Funk Railroad, BANG released three critically acclaimed albums on Capitol Records in the early 70s, inadvertently going on to establish the heavy genre that is now universally known as proto-metal.

Busting out of the turmoil of the post-psychedelic ’60s, BANG’s 1971 self-titled debut is considered an important forerunner of the early Doom Metal genre with Decibel Magazine hailing it as a, “landmark album in the badass pantheon of metal,” and inducting it the Decibel Metal Hall of Fame. Yet, as richly deserved as that honour is, BANG were no one-trick pony. Undoubtedly one of America’s heaviest proto-metal bands they also had a strong sense of melodic power, versatility and their song writing skills were second to none.

In the summer of 1971, Frank Ferrara, Tony Diorio and Frankie Gilcken hit the road, driving from their native Philadelphia area to Florida to try their luck. While buying rolling papers in a record store, they learned of a Small Faces and Deep Purple concert nearby in Orlando. Brazenly, they showed up at the venue and declared they were ready to go on stage. The concert organizer asked them to set up and play for him and after a handful of songs, the band found themselves opening for Rod Stewart and Small Faces. Before they knew it, BANG was playing with Bachman Turner Overdrive, Deep Purple, Three Dog Night, Fleetwood Mac, Ike and Tina Turner, The Doobie Brothers, and even Black Sabbath. Capitol Records signed them, and three LPs were subsequently released.

Highly regarded as a cult act by many for years, it’s now time for this truly amazing rock band to be enjoyed by a new audience worldwide. On the heels of the publication of the complete band history book, The BANG Story, Ripple Music is thrilled to announce the first ever Best Of… compilation from this historically heavy and fascinating band. The Best of BANG features eighteen of the band’s best-loved and heaviest songs from their Capitol Years, personally curated by Ripple Music and the band themselves.

For all those who’ve longed to dig into the band’s history, there is no better place to start than the Best of BANG. Available worldwide on double vinyl LP with gorgeous gatefold, featuring rare photos, a cover featuring the original BANG girl and liner notes by esteemed music journalist, Sleezegrinder, Best of BANG is also available on digipack CD and all digital music formats.

Best of BANG is by BANG is released worldwide via Ripple Music on 20th April 2018. Pre-order now at

Stream and share ‘Keep On’ by BANG here:

Track Listing:

1. Death of A Country
2. No Trespassing
3. My Window
4. Lions…Christians
5. The Queen
6. Questions
7. Redman
8. Our Home
9. Mother
10. Keep On
11. Humble
12. Idealist Realist
13. Feel the Hurt
14. Windfair
15. Exactly Who I Am
16. Don’t Need Nobody
17. Feels Nice
18. Slow Down

Artist: BANG
Album: Best of BANG
Label: Ripple Music
Release Date: 20/04/2018
Format: CD/LP/Digital